Lacey Powell, Jr.Lacey Powell
Outstanding Music Educator Award

AMEA honors its members who have shown a special dedication to music education in Alabama. Named in honor of two-term AMEA President and former AMEA Executive Director, Lacey Powell, this award honors those who have set high standards for our profession, and who give all of us inspiration and direction. Nominations are accepted up to July 15 each year.

Submit Nomination

2021Dr. Anna "Becky" HalidayUniversity of Montevallo
2020Deanna BellVestavia Hills Elementary East
2019Dr. Rob LydaCary Woods Elementary School, Auburn
2018Kim BainPizitz Middle School
2016Diane OrlofskyTroy University
2015Lea HoppeRandolph School
2013Gene InglisSaks High School
2012Regina NolandTuscaloosa City Schools
2011Paul EdmondsonGadsden City High School
2010Michael T. NixLauderdale County Schools
2009Dr. Leslie WelkerHillcrest Middle School
2007Dr. Johnnie VinsonAuburn University
1996Frances MossCalhoun Community College
1993Lacey PowellAMEA President & Executive Director
1992Bobby McCullarMinor High School
1991Ted GallowayVestavia Hills High School
1990Dianne JohnsonJefferson County Schools
1989Bill BrunnerAustin High School
1988Hugh ThomasBirmingham Southern College
1987Jerry BoboFayette County High School
1985Wilbur "Bodie" HintonAuburn University
1983Dr. John M. LongTroy University