Outstanding AdministratorOutstanding Administrator Award

AMEA honors outstanding administrators who have shown a special interest and dedication to music education in Alabama. Various individuals have been honored with AMEA’s “Outstanding Administrator” award because members have taken the time and interest to nominate them. This award provides our organization the opportunity to honor those administrators who have shown outstanding support of music education and who give all of us inspiration and direction. Nominations are accepted up to July 15 each year. Submit Nomination

2021Dr. Dee Dee Jones, SuperintendentHartselle City Schools
2019Dr. Deidra Robinson, PrincipalAlbertville High School
2018Dr. L. Wayne Vickers, SuperintendentAlabaster City Schools
2017Dr. Mark Richardson, PrincipalVestavia Hills Elementary East
2015Dianne Johnson, Director of Arts EducationJefferson County Schools
2014Dr. Bill Cleveland, SuperintendentHomewood City Schools
2013Reba CaldwellTuscaloosa County High School
2013Dr. Vic WilsonMountain Brook High School
2012Jim Jeffers, SuperintendentTallassee City Schools
2011Rita Thomas, Principal Hillcrest High School
2010Michael Reed, SuperintendentHartselle City Schools
2008Dr. Phillip Hammonds, SuperintendentJefferson County Schools
2007Jane Baker, PrincipalShades Valley High School
2005Ray Winegar, Elementary CoordinatorOpelika City Schools
2004David Miles,PrincipalPizitz Middle School
2003Earl Franks, PrincipalLuverne High School
2002Geoffrey Spann, Principal Troy Elementary School
1999Dr. Mary Ann Culotta, Director of Arts EducationJefferson County Board of Education
1998David Earl CarterEnterprise High School
1997Lewis CopelandDavidson High School
1995James LambertMonroeville Jr. High
1992Michael GrossVestavia Hills High School
1989Terry WilkersonMonroeville Jr. High
1988Kenneth AbbottHewitt-Trussville High School
1987Robert ChapmanSimmons Middle School
1985R. A. GinnPinson Elementary School
1983John Allen PickardSelma City Schools